## WABASH COUNTY COUNCIL ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING

The Wabash County Council met in session on Monday, January 6, 2020 in the Commissioner's Meeting Room of the Wabash County Courthouse. County Auditor Marcie Shepherd called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. since a new Council chairman had yet to be elected. Six council members were present: Kyle Bowman, Randy Curless, Matt Dillon, Matthew Mize, Barbara Pearson and Lorissa Sweet. Philip Dale was absent. Bowman led in a word of prayer and Pledge of Allegiance. The proceedings of the meeting were recorded by the County Auditor's office.

The first order of business was the election of the 2020 County Council Chairman. Dillon nominated Kyle Bowman for Council Chairman. Sweet seconded the nomination. No other nominations were heard. Auditor Shepherd called for the vote. The motion to elect Kyle Bowman as 2020 County Chairman passed by a 5-0 vote with Kyle Bowman abstaining. Auditor Shepherd turned the floor over to Chairman Bowman. Bowman asked for nominations for Vice-Chairman. Dillon nominated Matthew Mize as Vice-Chairman for 2020. Sweet seconded the nomination. No other nominations were heard. Bowman called for the vote. The motion to elect Matthew Mize as 2020 Vice-Chairman passed by a 5-0 vote with Matthew Mize abstaining.

The next order of business was to review the minutes for the December 2, 2019 Council meeting. Dillon made the motion to approve the minutes. Curless seconded the motion and it passed by a 5-0 vote with Matthew Mize abstaining.

Council reviewed the proposed 2020 schedule of meetings. Dillon made the motion to approve the schedule as presented. Mize seconded the motion; it passed by a 6-0 vote. The County Auditor was directed to post the meeting schedule.

Council then reviewed the designation of Council liaisons for the purpose of assisting elected officials and departments supervisors throughout 2020 and to assist with the 2021 budget request later in the year:

<u>Kyle Bowman:</u> Purdue Extension, Chief Probation Officer Sarah Lochner and County Surveyor Cheri Slee

<u>Randy Curless:</u> Sheriff Ryan Baker and Planning Director Mike Howard. <u>Philip Dale:</u> County highway Superintendent Cole Wyatt, Veteran's Service Officer Sam Daugherty, Soil & Water Conservation District Tashina Lahr-Manifold and EMA Director Keith Walters

<u>Matt Dillon:</u> County Clerk Lori Draper, Circuit Court Judge McCallen, Superior Court Judge Vanderpool, CASA Program Dee Joy, Central Dispatch Director Sandy Beeks

<u>Matthew Mize:</u> County Auditor Marcie Shepherd, County Treasurer LuAnn Layman, Solid Waste Management District Director Jen Rankin and County Commissioners.

<u>Barbara Pearson:</u> County Assessor Kelly Schenkel, County Recorder Eric Rish and Weights and Measures Director Todd Titus.

<u>Lorissa Sweet:</u> County Health Officer Dr. Roe, County Prosecutor William Hartley and County Coroner Suzie Lewis.

Next order of business was the 2020 appointments:

<u>Kyle Bowman:</u> Community Corrections and Strategic Comprehensive Plan <u>Randy Curless</u>: Personnel Administrative Committee, County Tax Abatement and Plan Commission Board

<u>Philip Dale:</u> Emergency Management Advisory Council and Local Emergency Planning Commission (LEPC)

Matt Dillon: Central Dispatch Advisory Board

Matthew Mize: Region III A, Solid Waste Management District and Personnel Administrative Committee Barbara Pearson: County Tax Abatement Committee Lorissa Sweet: GIS Also, Nate Fansher to the Tourism Commission Curless made the motion to approve all the appointments. Dillon seconded the motion and it passed by a 6-0 vote.

With no other business to come before the Council, Chairman Bowman adjourned the meeting. The next scheduled meeting of the Wabash County Council is Tuesday, January 21, 2020 at 6:00 p.m.