## WABASH COUNTY COUNCIL 2019 ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING

The Wabash County Council met in session on Monday, January 7, 2019 in the Commissioner's Meeting Room of the Wabash County Courthouse. County Auditor Marcie Shepherd called the meeting to order at 5:00 P.M. since the 2019 Council chairman had not yet been elected. Seven Council members were present: Randy Curless, Barbara Pearson, Matthew Mize, Matt Dillon, Lorissa Sweet, Phillip Dale, and Kyle Bowman. Shepherd requested that Councilman Bowman lead the Council in a word of prayer and she led in the Pledge of Allegiance. The proceedings of the meeting were recorded by the County Auditor's office.

The first order of business was the election of the 2019 County Council Chairman. Dillon nominated Randy Curless for Council Chairman. Curless stated that he would rather not serve because of work schedule conflicts with scheduled Council meetings. Dillon then nominated Kyle Bowman for Council Chairman. Curless seconded the nomination. No other nominations were heard. Auditor Shepherd called for the vote. The motion to elect Kyle Bowman as 2019 County Council Chairman passed by a 7-0 vote. Auditor Shepherd turned over the floor to Chairman Bowman. Bowman asked for nominations for Vice-Chairman. Dillon nominated Matthew Mize as Vice-Chairman for 2019. Sweet seconded the nomination. No other nominations were heard, so Bowman called for the vote. The motion to elect Matthew Mize as the 2019 Council Vice-Chairman passed by a 7-0 vote.

The next order of business was to review the minutes of the December 3, 2018 Council meeting. Mize made a motion to approve the minutes. Curless seconded the motion and it passed by a vote of 5-0 with two members abstaining due to absence from the Dec. 3<sup>rd</sup> meeting.

Council reviewed the proposed 2019 schedule of meetings. Discussion included moving the meetings from 5:00 P.M. to 6:00 P.M. and moving to the 3<sup>rd</sup> Monday of the month instead of the 4<sup>th</sup> Monday in order to avoid conflict with Wabash City Council meetings and to allow more public to attend. Dale made a motion to change the Council meetings to the third Monday of the month at 6:00 P.M. Curless seconded the motion and it passed by a 7-0 vote. It was noted that the January meeting will remain on the fourth Monday (January 28<sup>th</sup>) at 6:00 P.M. and the third Monday meetings will start with the month of February. Council also moved the dates of their 2020 departmental budget hearings into August instead of September. The County Auditor will post the meeting schedule for the public and inform County departments of the changes.

The next order of business was the appointment of council representatives to various advisory boards and committees. The only change from the previous year was that Barbara Pearson asked to be relieved of

representation to the Region 3A board. Matthew Mize stated that he would be willing to be the Council's representative.

The advisory board appointments are as follows:

Matt Dillon - Central Dispatch/E911 Advisory Board, Solid Waste Board

Kyle Bowman - Community Corrections/Probation

Phil Dale - Emergency Management Advisory & LEPC Board

Lorissa Sweet - County Health Board, GIS Board

Barbara Pearson - County Tax Abatement Board

Randy Curless – Job Classification/Wage & Personnel Committee, Planning Commission Board, County Tax Abatement Board.

Matthew Mize - Wage & Personnel Committee, Region 3A Board

Mize made a motion to re-appoint Dave Hawkins to the Laketon Regional Sewer District Board. Dale seconded the motion and it passed by a 7-0 vote.

The next order of business was the designation of Council liaisons for the purpose of assisting elected officials and department supervisors throughout 2019 and to assist with the 2020 proposed budget planning later in the year. The county department liaisons remained as they were in the previous year.

The Council liaisons and the county departments are as follows:

<u>Matt Dillon:</u> County Clerk Lori Draper, Circuit Court Judge McCallen,
Superior Court Judge Cornell, CASA Program Director Dee Joy, Central
Dispatch Director Sandy Beeks, and Solid Waste Director Jen Rankin.

<u>Matthew Mize:</u> County Auditor Marcie Shepherd, County Treasurer LuAnn
Layman, EMA Director Keith Walters, and the County Commissioners.

<u>Randy Curless:</u> Sheriff Ryan Baker and Planning Director Mike Howard.

<u>Kyle Bowman:</u> County Surveyor Cheri Slee, Purdue Extension Director
Angela Christopher, Probation Director Sara Lochner, and Community
Corrections Director Jeff Hobson.

<u>Lorissa Sweet:</u> County Health Officer Dr. Roe, County Prosecutor William Hartley and County Coroner Susie Lewis.

<u>Barbara Pearson:</u> County Assessor Kelly Schenkel, County Recorder Eric Rish, and Weights & Measures Director Todd Titus.

<u>Philip Dale:</u> Highway Superintendent John Martin, Veteran Service Officer Sam Daugherty, and Soil & Water Director Tashina Lahr-Manifold.

Auditor Shepherd reported that the Indiana Historical Society and the Indiana Historical Bureau has reappointed Ronald Woodward to serve as the official Wabash County Historian. Woodward's contact information is reported in the notification letter.

With no other business to come before the Council, Chairman Bowman adjourned the meeting. The next scheduled meeting of the Wabash County Council is Monday, January 28, 2019 at 6:00 P.M.

The following individuals also attended the January 7th Council re-organizational meeting:
\*If any names are spelled incorrectly, we apologize.

Deputy Auditor B.J. Grube, Sheriff Ryan Baker, Attorney Mark Frantz, and "The Paper" reporter, Josh Sigler.