WABASH COUNTY COUNCIL ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING

The Wabash County Council met in session on Monday, January 8, 2018 in the Commissioner's Meeting Room of the Wabash County Courthouse. County Auditor Marcie Shepherd called the meeting to order at 5:00 P.M. since the 2018 Council chairman had not yet been elected. Six Council members were present: Jeff Dawes, Randy Curless, Matthew Mize, Lorissa Sweet, Matt Dillon, and Kyle Bowman. Philip Dale was absent. Shepherd requested that Councilman Bowman lead the Council in a word of prayer and Council members then recited the Pledge of Allegiance. The proceedings of the meeting were recorded by the County Auditor's office.

The first order of business was the election of the 2018 County Council Chairman. Dillon nominated Jeff Dawes for Council Chairman. Curless seconded the nomination. No other nominations were heard so Shepherd called for the vote. The motion to elect Jeff Dawes as 2018 County Council Chairman passed by a 6-0 vote. Auditor Shepherd turned over the floor to Chairman Dawes. Dawes asked for nominations for Vice-Chairman. Dillon nominated Randy Curless as Vice-Chairman for 2018. Mize seconded the nomination. No other nominations were heard, so Dawes called for the vote. The motion to elect Randy Curless as the 2018 Council Vice-Chairman passed by a 6-0 vote.

The next order of business was to review the minutes of the December 4, 2017 Council meeting. Curless made a motion to approve the minutes. Mize seconded the motion and it passed by a vote of 6-0.

Council reviewed the proposed 2018 schedule of meetings. Mize made a motion to approve the schedule as presented. Curless seconded the motion and it passed by a vote of 6-0. The County Auditor will post the meeting schedule.

The next order of business was the appointment of council representatives to various advisory boards and committees. Curless made a motion to continue with the same representation from the previous year. Mize seconded the motion and it passed by a vote of 6-0. The advisory board appointments are as follows: Matt Dillon – E911, Solid Waste, Kyle Bowman – Community Corrections Phil Dale – Emergency Management, Lorissa Sweet – Co. Health Jeff Dawes – GIS board, Region 3A board, Co. Tax Abatement board Randy Curless – Job Classification/Personnel Comm., Plan Commission, Co. Tax Abatement board.

Shepherd stated that she would contact Gary Wood and Bill Parker regarding their board appointments on the Local Alcoholic Beverage board and Laketon Area Regional Sewer board, respectively. The next order of business was the designation of Council liaisons for the purpose of assisting elected officials and department supervisors throughout 2018 and to assist with the 2019 budget requests later in the year. Dillon made a motion to approve the liaison designations as they were the previous year. Curless seconded the motion and it passed by a 6-0 vote. The department liaisons are as follows:

<u>Matt Dillon:</u> County Clerk Elaine Martin, Circuit Court Judge McCallen, Superior Court Judge Cornell, CASA Program Director Dee Joy, Central Dispatch Director Sandy Beeks, and Solid Waste Director Jen Rankin. <u>Matthew Mize:</u> County Auditor Marcie Shepherd, County Treasurer LuAnn Layman, EMA Director Keith Walters, and the County Commissioners. <u>Randy Curless:</u> Sheriff Bob Land, and Planning Director Mike Howard. <u>Kyle Bowman:</u> County Surveyor Cheri Slee, Purdue Extension Director Angela Christopher, Probation Director Sara Lochner, and Community Corrections Director Jeff Hobson.

<u>Lorissa Sweet:</u> County Health Officer Dr. Roe, County Prosecutor Bill Hartley and County Coroner Susie Lewis.

<u>Jeff Dawes:</u> County Assessor Kelly Schenkel, County Recorder Lori Draper, and Weights & Measures Director Todd Titus.

<u>Philip Dale:</u> Highway Superintendent John Martin, Veteran Service Officer Sam Daugherty, and Soil & Water Director Tashina Lahr-Manifold.

With no other business to come before the Council, Chairman Dawes adjourned the meeting. The next scheduled meeting of the Wabash County Council is Monday, January 22, 2018.

The following individuals also attended the January 8th Council re-organizational meeting:

^{*}If any names are spelled incorrectly, we apologize.

County Sheriff Bob Land, Circuit Court reporter Christa Stroup, and "The Paper" reporter Josh Sigler.