## WABASH COUNTY COUNCIL ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING

The Wabash County Council met in session on Monday, January 9, 2017 in the Commissioner's Meeting Room of the Wabash County Courthouse. County Auditor Marcie Shepherd called the meeting to order at 5:00 P.M. since a new Council chairman had not yet been elected. Seven Council members were present: Randy Curless, Matthew Mize, Philip Dale, Lorissa Sweet, Matt Dillon, Jeff Dawes and Kyle Bowman. Deputy Auditor B.J. Grube opened with a word of prayer and Shepherd led in the Pledge of Allegiance. The proceedings of the meeting were recorded by the County Auditor's office.

The first order of business was the election of the 2017 County Council Chairman. Dillon nominated Jeff Dawes for Council President. Bowman seconded the nomination. No other nominations were heard so Shepherd called for the vote. The motion to elect Jeff Dawes as 2017 County Council Chairman passed by a 7-0 vote. Auditor Shepherd gave the floor to Chairman Dawes. Dawes asked for nominations for Vice-Chairman. Dillon nominated Randy Curless as Council's Vice-Chairman for 2017. Dale seconded the nomination. No other nominations were heard, so Dawes called for the vote. The motion to elect Randy Curless as the 2017 Council Vice-Chairman passed by a 7-0 vote.

The next order of business was to review the minutes of the December 5, 2016 Council meeting. Dillon made a motion to approve the minutes. Curless seconded the motion and it passed by a vote of 4-0 (the remaining three members were newly-elected but not sworn-in at the time of the Dec. 5, 2016 meeting).

Council reviewed the proposed 2017 schedule of meetings and it was accepted as presented. The County Auditor was directed to post the meeting schedule.

The next order of business was the designation of Council liaisons for the purpose of assisting elected officials and department supervisors throughout 2017 and to assist with the 2018 budget requests later in the year:

<u>Matt Dillon:</u> County Clerk Elaine Martin, Circuit Court Judge McCallen, Superior Court Judge Goff, CASA Program Director Dee Joy, Central Dispatch Director Sandy Beeks, and Solid Waste Director Jen Rankin. <u>Matthew Mize:</u> County Auditor Marcie Shepherd, County Treasurer LuAnn Layman, EMA Director Keith Walters, and the County Commissioners. <u>Randy Curless:</u> Sheriff Bob Land, and Planning Director Mike Howard. <u>Kyle Bowman:</u> County Surveyor Cheri Slee, Purdue Extension Director Teresa Witkoske, Probation Director Sara Lochner, and Community Corrections Director Jeff Hobson.

Lorissa Sweet: County Health Officer Dr. Roe, County Prosecutor Bill Hartley and County Coroner Susie Lewis.

<u>Jeff Dawes:</u> County Assessor Kelly Schenkel, County Recorder Lori Draper, and Weights & Measures Director Todd Titus.

<u>Philip Dale:</u> Highway Superintendent John Martin, Veteran Service Officer Sam Daugherty, and Soil & Water Director Susi Stephan.

Chairman Dawes requested that the Auditor's office compile the remaining unappropriated balances of any funds that could be considered for transfer for the purpose of future jail funding to be reviewed by Council at the next Council meeting.

Auditor Shepherd mentioned that the encumbering of funds into 2017 and the appointments of Council representatives to various boards and commissions will be presented to Council at the next meeting.

With no other business to come before the Council, Chairman Dawes adjourned the meeting. The next scheduled meeting of the County Council is Monday, January 23, 2017.

The following individuals also attended the January 9th Council meeting:

\*If any names are spelled incorrectly, we apologize.

Deputy Auditor B.J. Grube, County Commissioner Barry Eppley, County Treasurer LuAnn Layman, Sheriff Bob Land, County Extension Director Teresa Witkoske, EMA Director Keith Walters, Attorney Steve Downs and Attorney Mark Frantz, and Wabash Plain Dealer reporter, Mackenzie Klemann.